Collaborative Blogging

State of my Arc: Nov Issue

21322961_10155083691584436_568086230_n

HOW has another month gone by already? Oh my days…

State Of The Arc is a monthly meme hosted by Avalinah’s Books (catch up with how she’s doing here). The idea behind it is to motivate and support each other in getting through our TBR piles. We even have a Goodreads group – ARCs Anonymous! (Which I’m fairly quiet on, because quite frankly I’m rubbish at keeping up with everything)

Forgive me Evelina for I have sinned

Let’s get this over with shall we?


ARCs and books for review

Yep, Dadeni is still there. And yep, I accepted two new review requests. I have been reading Dadeni quite steadily, but it’s a Welsh language book. Although I can speak Welsh fluently, my reading and writing abilities are not as good; this has become desperately obvious as I’ve struggled with my reading pace. It’s painfully slow compared to my pace reading in English, and even then I’m not entirely sure I’m getting the full gist of whats going on.
Really hoping to get it done as soon as possible, so I can get my review up for the author and Y Lolfa; but also so I can move on to what is the only proper ARC on my list and get it read and reviewed before its publishing date.


Personal TBR

23158441_10155241162784436_1156947782_o

Very little change to this list; Dracula has been kicked off. I never managed to get around to reading it, and I won’t actually be able to make it to my Book Club this month as I’ll be away in Liverpool!

I really would like to decrease this pile before Christmas though, as I only ever ask for books as Christmas presents (and birthday presents the following month). Books I’ve asked for include Emperor of ThornsThe Copper PromiseThe Tiger’s Daughter, Book Of Swords, Sharp Ends, and Evil is a Matter of Perspective.


Research

23283255_10155241162789436_2116336677_n

The only book I currently have out from the library for research purposes is Gerald of Wales’ Journey Through Wales.

My medieval Work In Progress has ground to something of a halt as I’ve been swept up in a very exciting project.

Literature Wales are holding a series of events around Wales, called Weird and Wonderful Wales, to celebrate our Land of Legends. As a part of this, they advertised for a Professional Development Opportunity within each county. I applied for the Carmarthenshire opportunity, and miraculously was approved!

It entails a training day (on how to creatively engage vulnerable adults in a workshop environment), an evening story telling event (which is ticketed and open to the public, please come along!), and a writing workshop where I’ll be expected to contribute a piece of creative writing based upon contemporary local legends. The storytelling and workshop will be with illustrator Pete Fowler, professional writer and Bardd Aneirin Karadog and professional writer Emily Blewitt. So no pressure!

Whilst this is all ridiculously exciting, I am also terrified at this whole creative new world I’ll be stepping into. My mind has been consumed with what will be expected of me and what I can contribute. I have a couple of ideas, which I have started working on, and which I’ll update you all on very soon! Wish me luck!

WWW_Logo_Final_Saesneg-838x480

3 thoughts on “State of my Arc: Nov Issue

Leave a Reply

